• Industry News
  • Access and Reimbursement
  • Law & Malpractice
  • Coding & Documentation
  • Practice Management
  • Finance
  • Technology
  • Patient Engagement & Communications
  • Billing & Collections
  • Staffing & Salary

ICD-10 '411'


How many new codes will there be in the ICD-10 CM and PCS code sets?

Question: I’m pretty confused about ICD-10. I hear conflicting things about how many codes there will be. I’ve heard that there are 60,000 plus diagnosis codes, then I hear numbers that are more than double that. Do they really know?

Answer: Yes, the ICD-10 codes sets are pretty well defined, but it is understandable that you could be confused. The ICD-10 CM - the diagnosis codes - has 69,101 codes with more to come in 2011. These include your signs and symptoms as well as E-codes and V-codes. This compares to 14,000 plus codes in the current ICD-9. These are the codes that physicians use on CMS-1500 forms to communicate why health services were provided.

But on the other end of the spectrum is what is called ICD-10 PCS. This is the newer version of the old ICD-9 Volume 3, the procedure codes traditionally used by hospitals to report procedures. ICD-10 PCS will contain close to 87,000 procedure codes compared to the current 4,000 or so ICD-9 CM procedure codes.

When you add together ICD-10 CM and ICD-10 PCS you have more than 150,000 codes.

Bill Dacey, CPC, MBA, MHA, is principal in the Dacey Group, a consulting firm dedicated to coding, billing, documentation, and compliance concerns. Dacey is a PMCC-certified instructor and has been active in physician training for more than 20 years. He can be reached at or

This question originally appeared in the November 2010 issue of Physicians Practice.


Related Videos
The burden of prior authorizations
David Lareau gives expert advice
Dana Sterling gives expert advice
Dana Sterling gives expert advice
David Cohen gives expert advice
David Cohen gives expert advice
David Cohen gives expert advice
Jay Anders, MD, gives expert advice
Jay Anders gives expert advice
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.